Realizations

In a little over 2 months this trip I have been on for the last 2+ years will come to a close. It is sad that it took that long for me to realize that the thing I am majoring in has nothing to do with what I am passionate about. I chose Public Relations because it was a solid “umbrella” field with many diffrent avenues to explore that would allow me to provide for my family. It wasn’t untill two weeks ago that I realized being a Radio DJ/ On Air personality was what I really think I was ment to do in this world.

I have had a lot of career paths up to this point. When I was in the navy I was an “ok” corpsman. In the Marines I was a decent Combat Correspondent and I was a pretty good Assault Amphibious Vehicle Commander. When i got out of the military I was a fair/ok Motorcycle Tech. All of those jobs I did because they paid the bills. None of those jobs made me jump out of bed in the morning… not like Radio.

I currently get to do one hour a week in the campus radio station and then spend the next 167 hours waiting to get on air again. I get done with my shift and then pray that the next person might not show up so that I can “fill in” for their air time. In the last 3 weeks I have found myself writing scripts and listening to old broadcasts. I write PSAs and then find myself talking like I am “on air” when no one else is home.
I finally realized what I want to be when I grow up…

Leave a comment